History of Aintree Circuit Club

History of the Aintree Grand Prix Circuit

Old Programme 1 Old Programme 2 LAT Photography


Aintree is well known as the venue for the world famous Grand National. But it also has a long and proud history as a motor sport venue. The 3-mile track, opened in 1954 by Earl Howe and Raymond Mays, remains Britain’s only purpose-built Grand Prix circuit and it still exists in its entirety.

Aintree staged the British Grand Prix in 1955, 1957, 1959, 1961 and 1962. Stirling Moss scored his first World Championship Grand Prix victory in the 1955 event at Aintree. This also marked the first occasion on which a British driver had won his home Grand Prix.

The first British driver / British car victory in a British Grand Prix was at Aintree in 1957 when Moss and Tony Brooks shared a Vanwall in an event which was also honoured with the title “Grand Prix d’Europe”. Aintree also staged a further eleven non-Championship Aintree “200” Formula One events.

The British Grand Prix


Was staged at Aintree in 1955, 1957, 1959, 1961 and 1962… the 1957 event was bestowed with the title “Grand Prix d’Europe”

Stirling Moss

Scored his first Grand Prix victory in the 1955 event… the first time a British driver had won his home Grand Prix

First All British Win

In a British Grand Prix: Moss / Brooks / Vanwall in 1957

Eleven Other Formula One Races

Were staged at Aintree, including the famous Aintree “200″

Aintree Circuit Club

Is the world’s first track-based motor club and has been in continuous operation since 1954

Top ∧